The Best Chelsea Buns@Flour Station, Borough Market

Posted on April 24, 2011

0


Bakery, 5*/5, Price £2.50 for a Chelsea Bun, website

Flour Station Stall at Borough Market. Beautiful doughy heaven.

These Chelsea Buns are simply amazing. They’re incredibly dense but soft, packed full of currants and really buttery – the best pastry to grace Borough Market. I make a beeline for these every time I go.

The BBC recipe for Chelsea buns calls for 40g of butter per 500g of flour, but Flour Station Chelsea Buns are definitely laden with much more Lescure butter than that. A must buy!

Checking out their website, I discovered that they also have award-winning Eccles cakes. I can’t believe I haven’t tried them. I keep meaning to try their bread too, but it’s so easy to get distracted.

Posted in: bakery, sweets, under £5